Beginner Birder…very beginner! Care to assist?

Baby Something??? perhaps sparrow

Baby Something??? perhaps sparrow

I’ve always loved watching birds and since moving into this home 7 years ago we’ve set up a special place for the feeders and bird bath.  Friends of mine are birders and I am so impressed that they can name most any bird that they see, tell me if it’s a young one, female etc.  So, I’ve decided that I need to learn how to figure out what bird I am looking at; NOT SO EASY 🙂  I bought a basic book but the more I read the more confused I get.  Birds change with the seasons, we all know the male and female do not look alike and there seems to be endless rules.  So anyway, I’m just going to  take it slow and work on this new challenge.  I sat by my kitchen window today and captured a few of our feathered friends as they visited the bird bath.  Some I’ve identified,  hopefully correctly and some I have no clue…particularly the one with the speckled belly.  Any help in identifying what I’m looking at would be appreciated!  And Yes, I am an art photographer first so I have to create my “art” as well as capture our winged friends 🙂

Absolutely No Clue

Absolutely No Clue

House Finch?

House Finch?

Field Sparrow, I think

Field Sparrow, I think

5 thoughts on “Beginner Birder…very beginner! Care to assist?

Leave a Reply

