Camera Obscura

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been going thru my photo files and cleaning things up….I stumbled upon a photo I snapped last summer when I was in NY with the kids.  Sometimes I’ll just grab a photo to remind me of something…kinda like taking a quick note.  Anyway, we had driven out to Greenport, I had to get my fill of steamers and always a great place just to wander about.  Josh and I came upon this odd looking building, thankfully it had a sign explaining what it was…

Export-2-2

So basically it’s a great big pin hole camera!  unfortunately it was very overcast that day so we couldn’t enter, it only works in bright sunny conditions.  I googled it, oooops should I have binged it???  Oh well, it looked it up on the web :), and amazed to discover there are only 8 in the United States.  Five in the northeast and three in the west.  Here’s the link in case you want to check out the story of the one in Greenport….http://brightbytes.com/cosite/greenport.html    And here’s the link for US locations…. http://brightbytes.com/cosite/usamaplist.html

Export-1-4

6 thoughts on “Camera Obscura

  1. Now you are talking my neck of the woods Judy. I hope while you were in Greenport you visited Claudios Restaurant for some New England Clam Chowder – he best ever. The Camera Obscura is pretty cool it’s like live view on a DSLR, LOL.

    Like

  2. Claudios is good but I prefer the shack on the pier…can’t remember the name…crazy Jerry’s …Joes, something like that! Sitting by the boats pulling up is more my cup of tea 🙂 I miss the water a lot, only lakes here in Texas, just not the same

    Like

Leave a Reply

