Question of the Day…

Blue Winged Teal female???

Blue Winged Teal female???

How do you identify a bird or duck that you’ve spotted? I’ve always loved watching the birds, and we feed them in our backyard but recently I’ve become more interested in identifying them. Took a walk this morning in our neighborhood that has a few ponds. Spotted these ducks, I am assuming they are a couple, but I could be wrong. Anyway, when I got home I pulled out my bird book and UMMMMMM yeah, no idea what they are. Possibly American Wigeon or maybe Blue winged teal ??? If any of you know, would love your opinion and would also love to know how one figures out what the bird / duck is????

American Wigeon?

American Wigeon?

2 thoughts on “Question of the Day…

  1. Like you I consult a bird book – I have about three I think, one is predominantly European though. And I have been known to trawl the ‘net! Alternatively I hope a bird expert will come along and tell me 😀

    Like

  2. If you are a Flickr member, there is a big time bird group there that will help. I forget their group name, of course, but I think I could find out if you want.

    Like

Leave a Reply

