Colleyville Nature Area

Went on-line last night to find a new place to explore for my Saturday morning outing, read about a great little spot hidden away at the end of a residential road. I got there very early and so enjoyed my walk under the large trees….I miss trees. There really aren’t many to speak of in the DFW area, not the big old ones anyway.
I guess it’s dragonfly time of the year, there were hundreds of them flittering about.

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

I came upon a juvenile Wood Duck. Talk about ugly duckling, this guy is definitely in the awkward pre-teen years…but I think he is still cute πŸ™‚
Wood Duck Juvenile

And speaking of ducks, I think the female mallard is so overlooked, she is not terribly colorful as her husband but look at that pretty face…
Mallard female
I’ve saved the best for last….
I this what I have renamed as “the Darth Vader raptor”!!!

Mississippi Kite screen testing for Darth Vader

Mississippi Kite screen testing for Darth Vader

7 thoughts on “Colleyville Nature Area

Leave a Reply

