You’ve heard of the crazy cat lady…

…well I think I may (in my golden years) earn the title of the Crazy Bird Lady! 🙂  I’ve always loved photography, and I’ve always enjoyed watching birds HOWEVER I never thought I’d put the two together.  Let me clarify, I’ve watched birds but didn’t know for the most part what they were or that there are something like 900 species in North America.  Last January, I went with some friends to an event called the “EagleFest”.  A few raptor rescue groups were there showing raptors that could not be released back to the wild due to injuries that would not allow them to survive.  I was hooked!  What beautiful creatures.  I starting reading about birds, and watching them more closely.  My wonderful supportive hubby bought me a 400mm lens so I could actually start capturing images worth sharing.  I pretty much have not taken that lens off the camera since.  Another friend of mine bought me “The TOS Handbook of Texas Birds”, read it cover to cover.

I now cannot wait for Saturday’s when I can go out and find a new bird I’ve haven’t seen yet.  I may have to change the title of this blog…

Thought I’d share some of my discoveries.

Tricolored Heron

Texas has area’s called Water Management Areas, I guess other states have them too, just never heard of them until we moved to Texas.  In simple terms that are areas that are created to naturally purify water.  They also are areas where birds love to hang out!  This Tri-Colored Heron was at Richland Chambers WMA. I paid him to pose like that 🙂

Kingfisher framed

This is a belted Kingfisher.  I watched him diving for fish at the Lake Lewisville Environment Learning Area (LLELA) in Lewisville TX.  He perched himself on that branch as a perfect lookout into the lake and the fish below.

NY Egret

This handsome fella is a Yellow-Crowned Night Heron.  Spotted him at Stony Brook Harbor, NY this past summer during the early morning “golden hour”

Oystercatcher

American Oystercatcher at Jones Beach on Long Island, NY   I followed him for quite awhile to get this image, he didn’t want me anywhere near him!

19 thoughts on “You’ve heard of the crazy cat lady…

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Judy lindo photography blog

  2. Judy, I love your site. It’s phenomenal. That yellow-crowned night heron is spectacular! Would you mind if I drew him when I get around to the letter Y? I would like to post the photo, a link to this post, and credit you as the photographer. What do you think? No worries if you’d rather I didn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

