Hagermans National Wildlife Refuge

Spent a day at Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge a few weeks ago, it was a beautiful sunny day and I haven’t been there in over a year.  Due to continued flooding here in north Texas the main road into the refuge had just emerged from underwater so access to the trails was much easier.   There had been eagle sightings recently and was really hoping to spot one….posing for me in a nearby tree of course! 🙂

I searched the area where he/she was supposed to hanging…nothing.  Decided to take the Meadow Pond trail as I’ve always enjoyed the 6 mile walk and rarely see another person….I like my Saturdays to myself!    I was totally engrossed in a purple finch that was in fact posing for me when out of the corner of my eye I saw something large flying overhead   YUP it was the American Bald Eagle!!!  Didn’t get a very clear picture but what a thrill.  First time I’ve seen one in the wild, well actually the second time, first time was while driving at 80 MPH on an interstate in IOWA.

I planned on spending the day so was prepared and had packed lunch and plenty of water.  Mid-day was quiet as far as birds but just totally enjoyed the peacefulness of the refuge.  In the afternoon sun I came across this Great Blue Heron fishing in one of the creeks.  He wasn’t having too much luck, I must have watched him for 30 minutes and he never came up with anything other than this beautiful pose.

 

American Bald Eagle

American Bald Eagle

 

Hagermans National Wildlife Preserve

Purple Finch – female

 

Great Blue Heron

2 thoughts on “Hagermans National Wildlife Refuge

Leave a Reply

